You are here:

Run Management and Volunteers

You too can help! Volunteer Here.


Alan Gowen, President of the Virginia Happy Trails Running Club

Field Commanders (Race Directors)

Bob Gaylord and Toni Aurilio

Deputy Commander for Support/HQ Commandant

Cherry Grassi

General Staff:

Adjutant: Lucia Davidson (Registration/Entry; Finish Line/Timing)
Finance Officer: Sydney Shepherd
Recruiting Officer: Katie Keier
Transportation/Supply Officer: Stan Spence
Public Affairs: Anstr Davidson
Surgeon General (Collateral Duty as Signal Officer): Mike Ludwig
Chuck Wagon Commander: Dave Quivey
    Deputy Commander: Tom McNulty
Quartermaster/Sales: Dot Emig
Chief, Combat Camera Team: Bobby Gill

Battlefield Commander

Tom Corris

Resupply Points (Aid Stations)

Centreville: Kevin Sayers
Hemlock: Jim Daniels
Bull Run Marina: Tammy Massie
Wolf Run Shoals: Alex Papadopoulos
Fountainhead: Rob Colenso
Do Loop: Eric Levy-Myers

Battle Plan

In most cases, a time of arrival is specified. Any show up guidance from the person in charge on race day trumps the times here. The person in italics is the one in charge of the particular activity. There are 131 volunteers.


Course Marking (meet 9 a.m. at Hemlock)

Parking (meet at 1 pm)

Check-in (meet 1 pm)

Merchandise Distribution (meet 1 pm)

Saturday Morning

Check-in (opens 5:00 a.m.)

Breakfast (prior to the start)

Greeter/Information (prior to the start)

Parking (prior to the start)

Parking after Start

Resupply - Volunteer Support


Course Monitors and Sweeps (upstream)

Course Monitors (downstream)

Sweeps/Ribbon Take Down (downstream)

RD Lieutenants

Aid Stations

Field Commanders in Italics
6:30 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.
  • Kevin Sayers
  • Michael McCumber
  • Donnie DeMarco
  • Beth Hand
  • Sean Lawler
  • Bill Susa
  • Carrie Drummond
  • Michael Terhar
  • Monty Johnson
  • Patricia Navin-Greenfield
  • Jeff Reed
  • Andy Gingrich
  • Conor Lawler
7:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.
  • Jim Daniels
  • Sandy Walsh
  • Candy Nguyen
  • Jackie Kurisky
  • Anna Kurisky
  • John Paul Kurisky
  • Megan Kurisky
  • Evan Fisher
  • Nova Demoney
  • Sanderson Mittnacht
  • Gerri Diamond
  • James Moore
  • Rebecca Moore
  • Richard Britton
  • Heather Fisher
Bull Run Marina
8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
  • Tammy Massie
  • Joanne Fenninger
  • Jackie Ong
  • Glenda Rodriguez
  • Ryan Washington
  • Caleb Washington
  • Catherine Rehm
  • Susan Garfield
  • Tristan Massie
  • Yang Wang
  • Rui Zhang
  • Iva Maxwell
  • Cynthia Franz
  • Sue Parrotte
  • Misook Park
  • Glenda Rodriguez
Wolf Run Shoals
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • Alex Papadapouslou
  • Sarah Smith
  • Holly Bisbee
  • Rannveig Fredheim
  • Allison Holko
  • Ryan Paavola
  • Daniel Kuhn
  • Alvin Gunkel
  • Arlet Penev
  • Brian Chiles
  • Farouk Elkassed
9:00 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
  • Rob Colenso
  • jimm Ouellette
  • Erin Brown
  • Kirstin Corris
  • Elaine Maag
  • Jay Fitzsimmons
  • Kaiti Saunders
  • Stanley Beckwith
  • Mark Unger
  • Brittany Zale
  • Heather Rosso
  • Hai Nguyen
  • KC Guevara
  • Sara Davidson
  • Jen Page
9:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • Eric Levy-Myers
  • Susan Baehre
  • Michael McCumber
  • Paul Ralyea
  • Alyssa Sweeney
  • Paul Ralyea
  • Adam Katkhouda
  • Alek Neely
  • Julian Levy-Myers
  • Cathy Kovacic
  • Alek Neely
  • Birgit Mitchell



Bib Number Takers

Finish Award Distribution

Runner Recovery Aid Station and Merchandise Distribution

Mess Tent


First Aid / Runner Support

Clean Up

Back to: BRR Home Page | VHTRC Home Page | VHTRC Club Page